school and education

Talk to us



Postgraduate Studies
Bomet University College considers postgraduate studies as the nerve-centre of its dynamic growth and development because it is through postgraduate studies that Lecturers and Professors are produced. At the same time, the university considers postgraduate studies as a major avenue of promoting research and innovation not only for the institution, but also for the country and international community at large. To this end, the University promotes and encourages postgraduate studies through prudent recruitment, effective teaching, supervision and research, and completion of postgraduate studies within the stipulated time. To achieve these tasks, the University College has set Rules and Regulations Governing Postgraduate Studies and established a Postgraduate Studies Department under the Academic and Student Affairs Division.

a) Eligibility for Postgraduate Studies
Bomet University College admits students from accredited universities internationally.
I. Eligibility for the Postgraduate Diploma Programmes

Applicants for the Postgraduate Diploma (PGD) must be:
i) Holders of a degree of Moi University or any other recognized university.
ii) Holders of qualifications considered by the Senate to be equivalent to a university degree.
iii) In addition to the above, applicants should normally have at least one year of experience in relevant government, private or non-governmental service.

II. Eligibility for the Master Degree

i. The following shall normally be eligible to register for the Master’s degree:

1. Holders of at least second class Bachelors degree of Moi University.
2. Holders of a first degree from an accredited university and recognized by Moi University Senate as equivalent to (i)above.
3. Holders of a first degree with a ‘PASS’ shall normally be admitted if they have a postgraduate diploma in the relevant field.
ii. In addition, to producing evidence of eligibility for registration, candidates for the Master’s degree shall normally be required to appear for an interview by the various Schools so as to determine their suitability for registration. A written test might also be given, at the discretion of the Department.
iii. Subject to the approval of Senate, Departments, through their respective School Committees, and with the recommendations of GSC, may formulate regulations requiring applicants to have attained certain academic or equivalent qualifications, which are consistent with the goals of their Masters programmes.

 III. Eligibility for Admission into PhD Programmes

To qualify for admission into a PhD programme, a candidate shall normally be a:

i) Holder of a Bachelor’s degree
ii) Holder of a Master's degree of Moi University in the relevant field, or
iii) Holder of a relevant Master's degree of any other University recognized by Moi University Senate, or
iv) Holder of other qualifications considered by MU Senate as equivalent to a relevant Master’s degree.

 b) Postgraduate Programmes
The postgraduate programmes provided are enhanced in imparting creative and critical thinking as part of the essential skills needed for living and working successfully in a dynamic society.
The Department is also guided by the Rules and Regulations Governing Postgraduate Studies Policy as approved by Bomet University College Council.

The following postgraduate programmes have been submitted for Approval by Moi University Senate. After Senate Representatives Inspected and Evaluated Facilities and Resources available to support the Academic Programmes for launching in the four (4) Schools, details of Academic Programmes requested for are as follows:

1) Doctor of Philosophy in Communication Studies
2) Doctor of Philosophy in Religion
3) Doctor of Philosophy in Philosophy
4) Doctor of Philosophy in Economics
5) Doctor of Philosophy in History
6) Doctor of Philosophy in Linguistics
7) Doctor of Philosophy in Literature
8) Doctor of Philosophy in Political Science and Public Administration
9) Doctor of Philosophy in Geography
10) Doctor of Philosophy in Kiswahili
11) Doctor of Philosophy in Sociology
12) Doctor of Philosophy in Anthropology
13) Master of Philosophy in Communication Studies
14) Master of Arts in Religious Studies
15) Master of Arts in Linguistics
16) Master of Arts in Literature
17) Master of Arts in Medical Anthropology
18) Master of Arts in Philosophy
19) Master of Arts in Theatre
20) Master of Arts (Economics)
21) Master of Arts in Gender Studies & Development
22) Master of Arts in Public Administration and Policy
23) Master of Arts in History
24) Master of Arts
25) Master of Arts in Geography
26) Master of Arts in Kiswahili (Translation, Linguistics, Literature)
27) Master of Arts in Sociology
28) Master of Arts in Anthropology
29) Master of Science in Counseling Psychology

1) Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Psychology
2) Doctor of Philosophy in Language Education (English/Literature/Kiswahili)
3) Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Communication and Technology
4) Doctor of Philosophy in Philosophy Education
5) Doctor of Philosophy in Curriculum Development
6) Doctor of Philosophy in Social Education and Ethics
7) Doctor of Philosophy in History Education
8) Master of Education in Educational Psychology
9) Master of Education in Guidance and Counseling
10) Master of Education in Educational Administration
11) Master of Education in Language Education (English/Kiswahili)
12) Master of Education in History Education
13) Master of Education in Curriculum Studies
14) Master of Education in Philosophy of Education
15) Postgraduate Diploma in Education

1) Doctor of Philosophy in Business Management
2) Doctor of Philosophy in Agricultural Economics
3) Master of Business Management (MBM)
4) Master of Business Administration
5) Master of Science in Agricultural Economics and Resource Management
6) Master of Science (Project Planning & Management)

1) Doctor of Philosophy in Analytical Chemistry
2) Doctor of Philosophy in Biostatistics
3) Doctor of Philosophy in Biostatistics or Epidemiology
4) Master of Science in Analytical Chemistry
5) Master of Science Epidemiology & Biostatistics
6) Master of Science in Pure Mathematics
7) Master of Science in Public Health



    • Moi University
    • Ministry of Education Science and Technology
    • Kenya Universities And College Central Placement Service
    • ICT Authority
    • Higher Education Loans Board
    • Commission For University Education
    • Kenya Education Network
    • The German Academic Exchange Service, DAAD (German: Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst)
    • Inter-University Council For East Africa
    • Dialogue on Innovative Higher Education Strategies
    • Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development
    • Hochschu
    • Kasneb


    Talk to us